Cocky Eek


In 2013 Cocky Eek created Sphærae // an inflatable multi-dome pavilion created for immersive and synesthetic experiences.

The space consists of five semi-transparent bubbles of different sizes, together forming a multi-dome construction. A ventilator transforms air into a building material that forces her delicate membrane into shape. The surface becomes a carrier of immersive experiences with tailor-made works that follow the topology of the spherical architecture.

Sphaerae is an inflatable pavilion — a component of an ongoing strand of research by architect Eek into the pneumatology and tactility of inflatables and lightweight spaces.

The Pavilion has traveled through festivals as Kunstvlaai A.P.I. 2013, NL, Ars Elctronica 2014 AUT, TodaysArt 2014, NL, GOGBOT 2014, NL, AxS festval 2014, Los Angeles, USA, iii 2015, NL, {Un][split} Science & Art Festival 2018, München, DE. 

press: Los Angelis Times: latimes/sphaerae

During these festivals multi-media artists/scientists/composers performed challenging compositions in the domes. The single membrane space can touch down on uncharted territories making temporary ecosystems with fragile and complex atmospheric conditions as an instrument to explore the phenomena of light, sound and movement. 

Sphæræ’s inflatable venue was designed to serve as a platform for artists, scientists, and performers to make 180° works and compositions which explore the phenomena of light, sound and movement within the domes. Sphaerae hosted with great honor many dazzling, immersive live performed works from so many wonderful people.

Sphæræ featured projects including work, as a far-ranging program of sound works, video screenings, and talks by artists including:

William Basinski (US), Richard Chartier (US), Valekriy (NL), Evelina Domnitch & Dmitry Gelfand, (BY/NL), Francisco López (NL/SP), Raphael Vanoli (NL), Nenad Popov (NL), Erfan Abdi (NL), Barbara Ellison (NL), Paul Prudence (UK), O.M.F.O.(NL). Martijn van Boven (NL), E Jet Smits (NL), duard Haiman, Michael Holub, Ingrid Lee (USA/CN), V4W.ENKO & Vadim Smakhtin (RU/UA), Bas van Koolwijk (NL), Robert Curgenven (AUS), Robin Koek (NL), Micha Daams & Philip Vermeulen (NL), Matthijs Munnik (NL), Eric Parren (US), Matteo Marangoni, (IT) Yolanda Uriz (ES), Lola Bezemer (NL), Mike Rijnierse & Rob Bothof (NL), Joris Strijbos & Yamila Rios (NL), Dieter Vandoren & Mariska de Groot (NL) (BE/NL) Arthur I. Miller (US), Chris Duncan (US), Big City Forum with Soo Kim and Connie Samaras(US), Jeff Cain with Ezekiel Honig (US), France Jobin + Fabio Perletta with xx+xy visuals, Theun Karelse (NL), Mattia Casalegno (US), Intimatchine (US), David O’Brien,  Christopher O’Leary with Isaac Schankler,(US) Lucky Dragons (US), Mike Harding/Touch (US), Yann Novak (US), Steve Roden (US), Julie Tolentino (US) and Virons (US)

supported by:
– Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, NL
– Stimuleringsfonds Creative Industries,NL. partners:
– Synergetica Lab and ArtScience Interfaculty.